The Cavan Public Participation Network

Since July 2014, the Community & Voluntary Forum has been replaced by the Cavan Public Participation Network (CPPN). A total of 36 community representatives were elected to speak and act on behalf of community in County Cavan and will provide the public with an opportunity to have a voice in decision making processes through non-political means.

These 36 representatives will meet with their mandating electorate twice per year to hear local issues to become more informed voices for our community in Cavan and represent public views at a countywide level.

The representatives are as follows:

Environment Sector

  • Fintan McCabe (Cavan Environmetal Network)
  • Declan Fitzpatrick (Drumlane Community Gardens)
  • Finian McNamara (Community Resilience Cavan)
  • Danielle Wilson Higgins (Cavan Heritage Group)
  • Bernard Engle (Cavan Anglers)
  • Tereasa Walsh (Fairgreen Community Gardens)

Social Inclusion Sector

  • Bob Gilbert (Older Person’s Forum)
  • Veronica Williams (Cavan Women’s Network)
  • Bernard Joyce (Cavan Traveller’s Movement)
  • Madeleine Ui Mhealoid (Society of SVP)
  • Marisa Goldstone (Cavan Multicultural Network)
  • Olive Hannigan (Macra na Feirme)

Community&Voluntary Sector

  • Jerry Fitzpatrick (Gowna Development)
  • Nadia Dignan (Cavan Youth Network)
  • Thomas Maughan (Cavan Traveller Men’s Shed)
  • Larry McCluskey (Cootehill GAA)
  • Tess Brady (Mountnugent ICA)
  • Jet Calders (Cavan Family Support)

Bailieborough/Cootehill Municipal District

  • Jim Maguire (Bailieborough Development)
  • Nellie Smith (Carrickallen/Mountainlodge Comm.)
  • Natasha O’Brien (Bailieborough Arts Group)
  • Eamon Donelly (Tierworker Parish Council)
  • Thomas Smyth (Stradone PTAA)
  • Ron Reilly (Drung Bowls)

Ballyjamesduff Municipal District

  • Helen O’Reilly (Kilnaleck Community Co-op)
  • Kathleen Duffy (Lurgan Faroige)
  • Noleen Brady (Maghera Development)
  • Kate Ennals (Gowna Housing)
  • Collette McKiernan (Kilnaleck Social Services)
  • Patricia O’Reilly (Ballyjamesduff Comm Council)

 Cavan/Belturbet Municipal District

  • Christy Quinn (Cavan Community Games)
  • Brian McDermott (Belturbet Tidy Towns)
  • Bernie Brady (Tullacmongan FRC)
  • Chris Kirk (Killeshandra Tidy Towns)
  • Stephen Shannon (Belturbet Development)
  • Annemarie Johnston (Tullacmongan Women’s Group)