Cathaoirleach's Awards 2017

Cathaoirleach's Awards 2017

The Cathaoirleach’s Awards will take place in the Hotel Kilmore, Dublin Road Cavan on Friday, 26 May at 8pm. Tickets are priced at €15. For more information call 049 437 8579.

Published on: 20 May 2017

The Cathaoirleach’s Annual Awards recognise exceptional achievement, effort or service in a voluntary or unpaid capacity in County Cavan. The six Award Categories are:


·         Youth (under 25)

·         Social Inclusion 

·         Arts/Culture/Heritage

·         Community 

·         Sports 

·         Active Age (over 65)

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Category Nominated Organisation
Youth Leanne Kiernan by Niamh Smyth TD Irish Ladies Football Team
  Emma Feeney Nominated by Niamh Smyth TD Virginia Boxing Club
  Britney Arendse nominated by Virginia College Virginia College
Social Inclusion Philomena Clarke nominated by Gerry McDonagh Cootehill Cancer Care
  Peadar Mohan nominated By Niamh Smyth TD  
  St Clare's Primary School nominated by Ballyjamesduff Community Council St Clare's National School
  Paddy  Smith nominated by Ballinagh Community Enterprise Association Croagh Patrick to Ballinagh Cycle 
Arts/Culture/Heritage MAD 4 TRAD nominated by Ballyjamesduff Community Council  
  Declan Smith Nominated by Fionnula Farrelly Laragh Variety Show
  Harold Johnston Nominated By Killinagh Community Development Association Killinagh Community Development Association
Community Marie Smith Nominated by Kingscourt Community Development Association  Kingscourt Community Development Association
  Raymond Gilsenan Nominated by Niamh Smyth TD St Patrick's Day Parade Committee
  Jim Denning nominated by Geraldine McGrath Maghera Development Association
  Ballinagh Gardening Club Nominated by Wilma Bennett Ballinagh Gardening Club
  Hilary McPhillips, Tina Fitzpatrick, Margaret Charles, and Mary McElgunn nominated by Anna O Neill Belturbet Hens' Shed
  Isabel Rófe nominated by Sheila McKiernan Templeport Development Association
  Kevin Fox, Frank Reilly, Sean McInerney, Harry Brant nominated by Ballyjamesduff Tidy Towns Ballyjamesduff Tidy Towns
  Barry Wilson nominated by Margaret Reynolds Belturbet Tidy Towns
  Patsy McIntyre nominated by Dymphna Headen Bawnboy Workhouse Ltd
  Lavey Strand Lake Development Committee nominated by Michael Kilkenny Lavey Strand Lake Development Committee
  Eileen Forde Nominated by Killinagh Community Development Ass Killinagh Community Development Assocation
  Michael Ellis nominated by Arvagh Development Association Arvagh Development Association
Sports John Joe and Abby Brady nominated by Niamh Smyth TD Cavan LGFA and Mullahoran Ladies GAA
  Niall Patterson nominated by Thomas Farrell  County Cavan Rugby Club
  Carol Kiernan nominated by Niamh Symth TD Cavan Ladies 
Active Age Tom Mackey nominated by Niamh Smyth TD  
  Paddy Hartin nominated by Niamh Smyth TD  
  Frances O'Callaghan nominated by Brian Daly  Positive Age
  Kathleen Richey nominated by Sarah White Blacklion Water Safety